MINUTES

MERCER COUNTY REGIONAL PLANNING COMMISSION

Tuesday – December 18, 2018 - 7:30 p.m. – MCRPC Offices

MUNICIPALITY	PRESENT	ABSENT
FARRELL CITY	Stephen Bennefield	Kimberly Doss
HERMITAGE CITY	Jeremy Coxe	James Holl
SHARON CITY	Stephen Theiss	Frank Connelly
CLARK BOROUGH		James Carucci, Sr.
FREDONIA BOROUGH	Patricia McAdams	Bob Reagle
GREENVILLE BOROUGH	Janet Earle	
	Paul Hamill	
GROVE CITY BOROUGH	Shawn P. Myers	
JACKSON CENTER BOROUGH	-	Robert Egger
JAMESTOWN BOROUGH		
MERCER BOROUGH	Caroline DaCosta	
NEW LEBANON BOROUGH		
SANDY LAKE BOROUGH	Glenn Leech	Donald Oakes
SHARPSVILLE BOROUGH		Alex Kovach
		Guy Moderelli
STONEBORO BOROUGH	John Sweet	
WEST MIDDLESEX BOROUGH		Maleia James
		Robert Lark
WHEATLAND BOROUGH	Ron Viglio	Patricia Lewis
COOLSPRING TOWNSHIP	Robert L. McGhee	Don Blakesley
DELAWARE TOWNSHIP	William E. Anthony	
E. LACKAWANNOCK TOWNSHIP		William Hackwelder
FAIRVIEW TOWNSHIP		Mont Clark
FINDLEY TOWNSHIP	John B. Courtney	Steve Paxton
GREENE TOWNSHIP		Ken Cowher
		Paul Csonka
HEMPFIELD TOWNSHIP	Lisa Holm	Todd Hittle
JACKSON TOWNSHIP		Robert W. Pizor
JEFFERSON TOWNSHIP	Garth Falkner	William Dunn
LAKE TOWNSHIP		
LIBERTY TOWNSHIP	Dave Beatty	
	Ron Faull	Denial L. Detterror
NEW VERNON TOWNSHIP		Daniel L. Patterson
OTTER CREEK TOWNSHIP	Carl Swartz	
	Paulette Young	

MUNICIPALITY	PRESENT	ABSENT
--------------	---------	--------

PERRY TOWNSHIP		
PINE TOWNSHIP	Richard Stachel	Fred Brenner
PYMATUNING TOWNSHIP	Gary R. Lowers	
	David Gregory	
SANDY LAKE TOWNSHIP		Raymond Scofield
SHENANGO TOWNSHIP	Dennis DeSilvey	
	Matthew Stefanak	
S. PYMATUNING TOWNSHIP	Bill Klumph	
	Don Morrow	
SPRINGFIELD TOWNSHIP	Rick Dillaman	
WILMINGTON TOWNSHIP	Diana Caiazza	Bryan Cummings
WOLF CREEK TOWNSHIP		Gregory Chiappini
		Charles Weber
MERCER COUNTY	James L. Hogan	Jeff Fiedler
	Jeff Hoy	Sheryl Kelly
	James Hughes	Patty McCluskey
	Larry McAdams	
BOROUGHS ASSOCIATION		
SUPERVISORS ASSOCIATION		
COUNTY COMMISSIONER	Matt McConnell	
<u>STAFF</u>	<u>OTHERS</u>	PRESENT
Daniel Gracenin, Executive Director	James Nevant II, Solicitor	

Carmen Reichard, Assistant Director Brian Barnhizer, Senior Planner Chris Conti, Senior Planner Matt Stewart, Senior Planner Lisa Holm, Senior Planner Evie Wike, Administrative Secretary

CALL TO ORDER

Mr. Jeremy Coxe, Chairman, called the meeting to order at 7:30 p.m.

PRAYER AND PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

Mr. Dennis DeSilvey, Vice-Chairman, led the Commission in the prayer and Pledge of Allegiance.

ATTENDANCE SIGN IN

An attendance sign-in sheet was passed around and representatives present were asked to mark their attendance. A quorum was present.

PUBLIC COMMENTS ON ANY AGENDA ITEM

There were no public comments.

MINUTES OF THE NOVEMBER 27, 2018 MEETING

A motion was made by Mr. Falkner and seconded by Mr. Hoy to approve the Minutes of the November 27, 2018 meeting with no additions, corrections or deletions. The motion passed.

FINANCIAL STATEMENT

Mr. Gary Lowers, Treasurer, presented the November 2018 Financial Statement. A motion was made by Mr. Beatty and seconded by Mr. Morrow to approve the November 2018 Financial Statement as presented. The motion passed.

STAFF REPORTS

Mr. Gracenin mentioned that at last month's meeting he spoke about the Neighborhood Assistance Program and the Neighborhood Partnership Program. He stated that he downloaded the guidelines (58 pages), and if anyone would like to receive the information by mail or email to let him know. It is a tax credit program. Communities that are looking for tax credits or that might have a business person who could donate dollars into a pot for a specific project in their community would benefit from these programs. Next, he noted that the Northwest Regional Planning & Development Commission hired a consultant to do an oil and gas study on the cracker plant down in Beaver County to see what kind of businesses it may attract to the 8 County region that the Northwest Regional Planning & Development Commission makes up.

ZONING & SUBDIVISION REVIEW COMMITTEE REPORT

Mr. Larry McAdams, Committee Chairman, noted that the Committee met last week, a quorum was present, and reviewed the following items:

<u>1. Grove City Borough – Zoning Ordinance – Text Amendments</u> – Mr. McAdams stated that the proposed amendments include: 1) adding Bed and Breakfast Facilities as a conditional use in Residential District and adding language to manage the Air B&B alternatives; 2) adding definitions for Permanent Resident and Transient Guest (up to 30 days); 3) adding Kennels as a conditional use in the Industrial District provided they meet State regulations; and 4) adding Therapeutic Massage as a personal service with State licensing and other conditions. A motion was made by Mr. McAdams to approve the Grove City Borough Zoning Ordinance Text Amendments as discussed. Mr. Hughes seconded. The motion passed.

2. Land Development Plan for Maysville Communications Tower – West Salem Township – Mr. McAdams stated that the property is south of the PennDOT maintenance facility on SR 358, Vernon Road and access is from Orangeville Road. The proposal is for a cell tower off Orangeville Road, SR 846 west of Greenville Borough on property owned and used by Penn Power for a power transfer facility. The plans and information required by Section 512 of the Mercer County Subdivision and Land Development Ordinance were presented for their review. The proposed height of the tower is 150' and will be inside the fencing already existing and maintained for safety for the power facility. A modification for the required landscape buffers was requested due to existing woodland maintained at the site. A motion was made by Mr. McAdams that we approve the plan for the Maysville Communications Tower and approve the modification to use the existing buffer at this location in West Salem Township. Mr. Hughes seconded. The motion passed. 2019 MEETING SCHEDULE

Mr. Jeremy Coxe, Chairman, mentioned that there is a handout at the front table which lists the dates for the 2019 Commission meetings. Mr. Gracenin asked if there would be any conflicts due to Township or Borough Associations Conferences. It was noted that the Township Associations Conference is in early April next

year.

NOMINATING COMMITTEE REPORT AND ELECTION OF 2019 OFFICERS

Mr. Gracenin explained that the Nominating Committee presented the following slate of officers for 2019:

Dennis DeSilvey (Shenango Township) – Chairman Carl Swartz (Otter Creek Township) – Vice-Chairman Gary Lowers (Pymatuning Township) – Secretary Robert Lark (West Middlesex Borough) – Treasurer

Mr. Coxe mentioned that the floor is open for additional nominations, if any. None were forthcoming. A motion was made by Mr. Anthony to close the nominations. Mr. Sweet seconded. The motion passed. Next a motion was made by Mr. Morrow to elect the slate of officers for 2019. Mr. Beatty seconded. The motion passed.

ANNUAL AWARDS AND RECOGNITIONS

Mr. Gracenin thanked all of the Commission members who attended one or all of the meetings for their support and cooperation throughout the year.

Awards – Perfect Attendance at MCRPC meetings during 2018: Stephen Theiss; Patty McAdams, Larry McAdams; John Sweet; Gary Lowers; Bill Klumph; Jim Hughes; Jim Nevant; Lisa Holm and Jeremy Coxe.

10 Years of Service Award – Jim Nevant

20 Years of Service Award - Patty McAdams

25 Years of Employment Award – Dan Gracenin

ADJOURNMENT

With no further business or discussion, a motion was made by Mr. Falkner and seconded by Mr. Sweet to adjourn the meeting at 7:46 p.m.

Submitted and Certified By:

Carl Swartz, Secretary – MCRPC

Date: